A Roof Over Their Heads : Dyess Colony Houses
Four-Room, Style A-4, Colony Home
One of nine styles for the four-room houses designed by Little Rock architect Howard Eichenbaum and built in the Dyess Colony. The federal government built 233 of the four-room sizes, using the nine styles to vary floorplans and exterior facades.
Top: Photo from the National Archives, Records of the Works Projects Administration.

Bottom: Home of Herman and Myrtle Pierson, who relocated to Dyess in 1936 from Johnson County. Courtesy of Jean Ann Cannon Jennings.
Click to Enlarge
Four-Room A-4 Style HouseFour-Room A-4 Style House
Herman and Myrtle Pierson HomeHerman and Myrtle Pierson Home