A Roof Over Their Heads : Dyess Colony Houses
Four-Room, Style A-2, Colony Home
One of nine styles for the four-room houses designed by Little Rock architect Howard Eichenbaum and built in the Dyess Colony. The federal government built 233 of the four-room sizes, using the nine styles to vary floorplans and exterior facades.
Top: Byron B. and Connie Wilson arrived in 1936 from Pike County. Courtesy of Mary Lou Wilson Mauldin.

Bottom: Photo from the National Archives, Records of the Works Projects Administration.
Click to Enlarge
Byron B. Wilson FamilyByron B. Wilson Family
Four-Room A-2 Style HouseFour-Room A-2 Style House