A Roof Over Their Heads : Dyess Colony Houses
Three-Room, Style C-2, Colony Home
One of seven styles for the three-room houses designed by Little Rock architect Howard Eichenbaum and built in the Dyess Colony. The federal government built 61 of the three-room sizes, using the seven styles to vary floorplans and exterior facades.
Top: The Jordan and Martha Smith family of Searcy County. They relocated to Dyess in 1936.

Photos from the National Archives, Records of the Works Projects Administration.
Click to Enlarge
Jordan Smith FamilyJordan Smith Family
Three-Room C-2 Style HouseThree-Room C-2 Style House